Congo and Cameroun, Bolivia of the heart. Thoughts gleaned in the global south. Love affair with language. Can rootedness be non-geographical?

Archive for July 17, 2014

A Sense of Quiet Happiness (for the gift of being able to be working in this tiny slice of God’s universe)

“Someone once asked (Teresa of Calcutta) if she was spoiling the poor, to which she replied, “There are so many congregations who spoil the rich, it is good to have one congregation in the name of the poor to spoil the poor.”  Father Angelo Scolozzi, who worked with Mother for over twenty years, remembers that when she said this, the room fell silent for a long while.” – p. 49, “Finding Calcutta” by Mary Poplin


Jogging and reading, two favorite activities..

Wow, these days one could even combine them through using audio-books, if one wanted to!  I listen to music while I jog.  Don’t think I could stay nearly so motivated for jogging if I didn’t.

Delightful thoughts on running from a delightful book I found in the Rye Public Library, called “Running Like a Girl” by Alexandra Heminsley.

“Somehow I had forgotten the itch in my legs when I was in school, looking up at the clock, back at the teacher, and out of the window.  Soon.  Then, the very second the bell rang, we would grab our coats and head outside to play whatever game we could think of, as long as it meant running around.  We didn’t call it running at that age because running was how we did everything, mittens trailing from our sleeves and braids whipping at our cheeks.  We were just children doing our thing.  We ran and we laughed.  They were one and the same.” – Alexandra Heminsley in her book, “Running Like a Girl – Notes on Learning to Run.” pp. 4-5.

a Guatemala Kite I saw in Antigua.

a Guatemala Kite I saw in Antigua.


Photo is from inside the coolest 16-hundreds monastery in Potosi, Bolivia. Monastery? Convent!

How do people post every day?  It’s hard!  Sometimes it’s hard.

My heart’s a little tender right now, just a little sore.  Yesterday our son and his family left us again, for a long season of time, to go home to their home on another side of the world, and I’m missing them.

So I’m going to make a little distance, a tiny distance, for self protection, to be not quite so “raw”, not quite so vulnerable, for a little while, and I’m going to post about things I’m reading, that I’m finding funny or telling or that I just like immensely.

“Suppose you (over)hear a conversation with something marvelous in it, then I advise you to write it down in your journal.  A hint is to write nice and small so you won’t use the book up with big loping writing.

One of the first things I’m going to write is a phrase I overheard as two people passed by my window the other day, talking about a friend of theirs.  ‘Her feet aren’t any use to her – not as feet, that is…’

It makes you wonder what on earth they ARE useful as, and there’s surely some story it can go into along the way.

If you listen well, you will have many more, and probably better quotes for yourselves.  You will look through them and realize that it would be positively criminal to waste them, and you will start writing straightaway!”  – Maeve Binchy, in her book “The Writer’s Club”.IMG_5700