In crossculture. People watching. Community in the two-thirds world and other places. About questions too: "Higher up and further in!" with an outreach twist? How?

“I love you, oh Lord, my Strength.”

Psalm 18: 1-3  I love You, oh Lord, my Strength.  The Lord is my Rock, my Fortress and my Deliverer.  My God is my Rock, in whom I take refuge.  He is my Shield, and the Horn of my salvation, my Stronghold.  I call to the Lord, who is Worthy of Praise.

 

23 1/2 hour trip yesterday – we rose from our bed and sprang into action yesterday at 4 a.m. and we traveled a hemisphere in a day.  But it was a north-south hemisphere.  Which DEFINITELY has its advantages over east-west travel, in that one gets to stay in the same time zone.  Yay! So, to return to yesterday and today’s story, we fell into bed in Mom B.’s downstairs room at exactly 3:30 a.m. today.

THANKFUL for God’s journey mercies to us – everything in the trip went smoothly.  More or less.

This afternoon we have been enjoying a tiny written “Christmas” in July – of encouraging, beautiful, grace-filled Christmas cards, birthday cards, Mother’s Day cards to us that we are getting to open and read for the first time! That’s because we can’t really use the postal system of Bolivia very successfully, which is sad.  There’s just too much chance of something not making it to its destination.  But now…TODAY…we are getting “Written Christmas in July” instead!

Something about it – the snail mail beautiful cards with their hand-written notes – mean even more to us TODAY than if we had received them at Christmastime.

THANK YOU, those friends and family who lovingly, thoughtfully, sent us cards and letters!  We love them, and we thank GOD for YOU.

Has this touched you in some way? Please feel free to reply!

