What is a faun? Higher up and further in with an outreach twist. Writing.

My Beautiful Swimming Class

So, today during the pre-swimming calisthenics, the instructor was having all fifty-some students of all ages run in place and do

SOAP!  This is hand-made soap, from ancient Middle-Eastern recipes, in Sidon, Lebanon.  We could use more of this among the hundreds of swimmers that we are in my swimming school in Bolivia.

SOAP! This is hand-made soap, from ancient Middle-Eastern recipes, in Sidon, Lebanon. We could use more of this among the hundreds of swimmers that we are in my swimming school in Bolivia.

various stretches and lunges. Shortly before she closed the warm-up session, she started talking about papaya (the fruit) and how we should all get some and rub it on our arms and legs, if we have gotten sore muscles from doing the calisthenics! “It softens meat, so therefore it will be good for your sore muscles.  You should go out and get some right away and rub it all over yourselves.” I’m laughing as I type this. These are the kinds of moments I enjoy about living in a foreign country and experiencing the details, the humor, the feelings (SOME of the feelings.  SOMETIMES.) of daily life in a different culture! But I’m not going out tonight to buy papayas, cut them open, and rub them all over my arms and legs to take care of my sore muscles…

5 responses

  1. Papaya actually has a lot of great benefits and it is used rubbed on the skin. I googled it after reading this post and it’s true! I’m amazed!

    http://www.stylecraze.com/articles/benefits-of-papaya-for-skin-and-hair/

    Like

    January 8, 2015 at 2:40 am

  2. Thank you for writing in with this! I would, and think I do, believe it (about benefits of it being rubbed on the skin). I had known all my life about its meat tenderizing properties, having watched my Mom use it to prepare tough beef for many years, in Cameroun, when I was a child. I just was not sure about it being able to help sore muscles through being rubbled on the skin. Maybe we should experiment – perhaps that is true also! It’s an amazingly wonderful fruit, as so many plants are.

    Like

    January 8, 2015 at 10:09 am

  3. I’ve never heard of using it to tenderizing meat. How do you do it?
    If you experiment, you’ll have to let me know how it works out

    Like

    January 8, 2015 at 2:18 pm

  4. Yeah, that’s one of the oldest uses for papaya, and papaya peels, and the black seed in the middle too. One just spreads it on the tough meat and leaves it all sit for a few hours in the refrigerator, then cooks the meat. Works like a charm. Natural meat tenderizer…

    Like

    January 8, 2015 at 3:39 pm

  5. I’ll have to try that next time I make steak!

    Like

    January 8, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Has this touched you in some way? Please feel free to reply!

