What is a faun? Higher up and further in with an outreach twist. Writing.

What’s happening in the kitchen?

** little note**  Life’s different here than in the U.S.A., in that, people can’t really schedule the things public companies, in the cities, are going to do for any given property.  We have to take the workers, and the projects, when they come.  And, we don’t know beforehand when they are coming!

One of the things I love about God is that He takes you at your word!

I had told Him I was all His and asked Him to grow me  in patience and in love, to help me to become more spiritually and practically mature in life, and to do whatever it took to make me to be walking more closely with Him.

Well, He took me at my word!  He’s been S-T-R-E-T-C-H-I-N-G and exercising me for all these things, and there’ve been moments in the process when I’ve not responded with glowing authentic positivity.

Okay, so, we arrived HOME to Bolivia the other day. This next part is truly wonderful, we WANTED it, we ARRANGED for it ourselves and we knew it would help us settle back in and bond to Bolivia again more rapidly and of course it did.  Friends staying with us in our apartment – two different batches of them, mostly at the same time.  For about ten days, and some of them had arrived to our home at our urging BEFORE we had arrived to Bolivia.

So, we walked into our home, tired after (most immediately) more than 24 hours of traveling to be warmly greeted at our own door by our dear friends but then, I started feeling bad because our friends had had to arrive to a dusty, disorderly home without any food in the refrigerator or water or Internet hooked up or even sheets and blankets on the beds.  THEY didn’t mind a bit – THEY understood.  But it was something I started putting on myself, a little bit.

Oh boy, I should have known;  did GOD ever know what He was doing with me; I hadn’t seen nothin’ yet!

The very next morning, and only one day before our SECOND batch of dear friends would arrive to stay with us for about a week I was ordering items in my kitchen, scrubbing grundge off the coffeemaker and putting away a bit of food in the fridge when there came a knock at the screen door and in stepped four men.  Our (another!) dear friend who lives here, two total strangers and my dear husband.  Our guest friends, fixing their breakfasts, were there too.  Between the 7 of us, nobody could even turn around.

We were then informed by the two strangers  that they were from the Cochabamba Gas Company and it was TIME.

TIME for what?

Time for us (several different units of those of us who lived and/or worked in this big, old and somewhat historic outreacher building which has been divided a bit into different flats and office spaces) to RECIEVE the INSTALLATION.

The installation of what?

To have “gas domiciliario” (natural gas) piped into our kitchens, from the street, instead of powering our cookstoves by putting on and changing, about once a month, the huge, heavy gas tanks or “garafas” (behemoth versions of what you may power your patio grill with).

Oh.

Well.  That will be nice, I thought.

“What will the installation entail?”  I enquired, both meekly and politely.

“Oh, not too much. Just so you know you won’t be able to actually hook up the gas and use it until sometime in January or February. Today, though,  we’ll just dig up your garden outside, to run the line, and then we’ll  knock three or four 9-inch holes through the bricks and plaster of the outside house wall, with a pneumonic drill, into this kitchen. We will cut four or five seven-inch holes in these  wooden and formica  counters and cabinets. There’s really not much to it.  You can’t use this section of the countertop anymore because there’ll be an iron pipe running down your wall here, on the outside, next to the stove, with a red 8-inch  turn-off lever attached.  We’ll only have to permanently take away ONE of your kitchen cabinets.  To make room for the emergency vent pipe.

I started breathing deeply but smoothly masked my feelings. “Hmmm”, I replied suavely, “Any chance that the PROJECT could be postponed for a couple of weeks?”

“No, of course not!  It has to be done today and tomorrow.”

Our two beloved houseguests, clutching their coffee and cereal bowls, squeezed quietly past the rest of us and melted away into the other room at that point, I’m sure to pray for me! (They had probably seen and read my face in that moment!)

My dear hubby insisted on moving the contents of the kitchen for me, completely, as well as cleaning up the dust and rubble as the work went on.  I could tell he felt bad for me!  And our friends insisted on bringing in two lunches, delicious “Papas Rellenas” and scrumptious  “Menudito”, from SucreManta, over the next several days!

IMG_5854

Has this touched you in some way? Please feel free to reply!

