Congo to a teenager. Bolivia. Cameroun. What is a faun? Higher up and further in with an outreach twist. Writing.

A Quote that Makes me Think!

Having majored in literature in university, I relate to this quote from C.S. Lewis in “Christian Reflections”.

Lewis was speaking in the context of biblical criticism, commenting on some of the 20th century critics’ insistence that the New Testament accounts of the “historical Jesus” were myths and legends.

Here’s the Lewis quote, in its entirety.

“If he (the biblical critic) tells me that something in a Gospel is legend or romance, I want to know how many legends and romances he has read, how well his palate is trained in detecting them by the flavor; not how many years (as a biblical critic) he has spent on that Gospel (trying to pick it apart and discredit it).  Read the dialogues (in John):  that with the Samaritan woman at the well, or that which follows the healing of the man born blind.  Look at its pictures:  Jesus (if I may use the word) doodling with his finger in the dust;  the unforgettable (greek phrase) (‘and it was night’).  I have been reading poems, romances, vision-literature, legends, myths all my life.  I know what they are like.  I know that not one of them is like this.  (Lewis, Christian Reflections, 154, 155)

Leave a Reply

