In crossculture. People watching. Community in the two-thirds world and other places. About questions too: "Higher up and further in!" with an outreach twist? How?

A Song that makes me think of Some of the Outreaches and some of the Children in Bolivia

IMG_6240Face of Christ

 

by

 

Chris Rice

 

 

 

(She) shares a (greasy sidewalk) with a dozen other kids

And the only roof (she) knows is that sometimes starry sky,

A filthy blanket on a (patch of dirt) is her bed

And it’s too cold to talk tonight

So I just sit with her instead and I think..

 

Chorus:

How did I find myself in a better place?

I can’t look down on the frown on the other (gal’s) face,

For, when I stoop down low and look her square in the eye,

I get a funny feeling I just might be dealing

With the Face of Christ….

 

After 16 years in a cold (black) prison yard (of drugs, and alcohol addiction)

Somehow, her heart is soft,

But keeping simple faith is hard,

(She) lays her Bible on the (cement) next to me,

And as I hear her humble prayer I feel her longing

To be free someday…

 

See, you had no choice which day you would be born,

Or the color of your skin

Or what planet you’d be on,

Would your mind be strong?  Would your eyes be blue or brown?

Whether Daddy would be rich

Or if Mama stuck around at all…IMG_4848

Has this touched you in some way? Please feel free to reply!

