In cross culture. People Watching. Community in the Developing World and other Places. About questions too: "Higher up and further in!" with an outreach twist? How?

Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

IMG_2025I do like the Beth Moore WORD studies, at least for an American audience.  I like some more than others and the workbooks more than the DVD’s. Her material is accessible and warm and her passionate genuine search for God, and walk with God shine through.

Here’s some material from her study, “Believing God”, on the topic of faith, that I was reviewing with delight in my personal quiet time this morning:  ” Psalm 139: 13 – 18:  YOU created my inmost being; YOU knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise YOU, because I am fearfully and wonderfully made.  Your works are wonderful, I know that full well.  My frame was not hidden from YOU when I was made in the secret place.  When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, Your eyes saw my unformed body.  All the days ordained for me were written in Your BOOK  before one of them came to be.  How precious to me are Your thoughts, O God!  How vast is the sum of them!  Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand.  When I awake, I am still with you.”

(now, Beth Moore’s own words and thoughts, plus a book reference:)  Evolution is the idea that all living things evolved from nonliving chemicals to simple organisms that then changed through the ages to produce millions of species.

Some of those organisms didn’t turn out to be nearly as simple as Darwin imagined.  At the time when he and others like him tried to fit life under their mental microscopes, a basic cell was believed to be an unimpressive daub of protoplasm.  The assumption made a simple and rapid evolution from basic chemicals far more plausible.  Time proved complexities beyond comprehension.  I’ll call on the expertise of authors Clayton and Jansma once more: ‘We now know that a single cell with a nucleus is the microscopic equivalent of an entire high-tech industrialized city.  It is surrounded by a wall armed with a tight security system, selectively allowing raw materials to enter and manufactured products to leave.  The city contains a factory in production around the clock, tied to a trillion other similar factories by a mysterious communications network that dictates repair schedules and keeps track of all inventory.

A special library within each city is filled with detailed blueprints for every piece of machinery and maintenance equipment it uses.  In living organisms, this information includes every minute characteristic of the organism…….

Directions for all this activity are encoded in DNA, the genetic material of each cell, that is wound into the shape of a double helix within the microscopically small nucleus.’ (Clayton and Jansma)

I learned that about 2 meters of DNA can be found in every human cell, each packaged with 46 chromosomes in an infinitesimal nucleus. While Darwin sat at his desk and reduced all of creation to simple blobs of protoplasm, the outstretched DNA in his body could have reached back and forth to the sun about fifty times.  Charles Darwin was fearfully and wonderfully made.  He just never knew it.

So are you, Dear One.” (from ‘Believing God’ by Beth Moore)

Has this touched you in some way? Please feel free to reply!

